Forced Feeding vs Pleasurable Feeding

Iam sure all mothers have gone through this conflicting feeling within themselves….should I be a “good mother” and ensure my child eats 4 square meals or should I be the “easy going mother” who feeds her child when he/she is hungry??

I have faced this conflict within myself since the day my son started eating semi solids….I have never forced him to eat at regular intervals…I do give him food during mealtimes and if he is hungry he does ask for food. He is fussy but enjoys what he eats …I dont even feed him (he likes to eat on his own since he started eating solids) 🙂

This is completely contradictory to how I was raised as a child….I was required to eat at all mealtimes irrespective of whether I was hungry or not and my disliked foods were forced on me for the “goodness” that they bore…but all that it led to was complete hatred towards food…

I started discovering the pleasures of food and eating only post marriage where food wasnt forced on me and I started relishing what I ate..luckily this progressed into my pregnancy which has been my “healthiest eating” phase where I ate all the vegetables and fruits out of sheer happiness and liking…..that seems to have passed on to my son….

He is not a big eater but he enjoys what he eats…even though his mealtimes are irregular (which Iam sure will stabilize with age)…

I have been under constant pressure from elders for letting him be and not being the “good mother” who feeds her child for 1 hour each mealtime irrespective whether her child is hungry or otherwise….

Iam willing to be this “bad mother” as I find my son loving food which I dont find in many children nowadays….or should I be the “good mother”???

To each her own I say 🙂

2 thoughts on “Forced Feeding vs Pleasurable Feeding

Leave a Reply

